## **MINUTES**

# OF THE JOINT MEETING OF THE BROCK COMMISSION, THE BROCK WEST COMMISSION AND THE DENNIS COMMISSION

Meeting date: June 12, 2017 at 5:30 PM at the Brock ISD High School Lecture Hall.

**BROCK ATTENDEES**: Mayor Bill Cooper, Commissioner Maureen Kenney and Commissioner Troy Snow. None absent.

<u>BROCK WEST ATTENDEES</u>: Mayor Jay Hamilton, Commissioner Scott Drillette and Commissioner Matthew Heistermann. None absent.

<u>**DENNIS ATTENDEES**</u>: Mayor James Synowsky, Commissioner John McCarthy and Commissioner Rick Jeanes. None absent.

**OTHER ATTENDEES**: Towns' Secretary, Lisa Bellamy and Towns' Attorney, Sharon Hicks.

#### 1. CALL TO ORDER

- a. Brock Mayor Cooper called the Brock Commission meeting to order at 5:34 and acknowledged a quorum was present.
- b. Brock West Mayor Hamilton called the Brock West Commission meeting to order at 5:35 and acknowledged a quorum was present.
- c. Dennis Mayor Synowsky called the Dennis Commission meeting to order at 5:35 and acknowledged a quorum was present.

#### 2. INVOCATION

a. Mayor Cooper led the invocation.

## 3. PLEDGE

a. Mayor Cooper led the Pledge of Allegiance.

### 4. REGULAR AGENDA

- a. Approval of Minutes of Joint May 12, 2017 Meeting
  - i. <u>Brock</u>: Commissioner Kenney moved for approval and Commissioner Snow seconded. Motion carried.

AYES:

Mayor Cooper, Commissioners Kenney and Snow

NAYES:

None

ii. <u>Brock West</u>: Commissioner Heistermann moved for approval and Commissioner Drillette seconded. Motion carried.

AYES:

Mayor Hamilton, Commissioners Heistermann & Drillette

NAYES:

None

iii. <u>Dennis</u>: Commissioner McCarthy moved for approval and Commissioner Jeanes seconded. Motion carried.

AYES:

Mayor Synowsky, Commissioners McCarthy and Jeanes

NAYES: None

b. Ordinances <u>2017-06-12.1</u> Acknowledging the Original Incorporation Areas of Brock, Brock West and Dennis and authorizing a City Map to be prepared.

Attorney Hicks reported that Agenda item 4.b and d were combined into one ordinance.

i. **Brock**: Commissioner Snow moved for approval and Commissioner Kenney seconded. Motion carried.

AYES:

Mayor Cooper, Commissioners Kenney and Snow

NAYES:

None

ii. <u>Brock West</u>: Commissioner Drillette moved for approval and Commissioner Heistermann seconded. Motion carried.

**AYES:** 

Mayor Hamilton, Commissioners Heistermann & Drillette

NAYES:

None

 Dennis: Commissioner Jeanes moved for approval and Commissioner McCarthy seconded. Motion carried.

AYES:

Mayor Synowsky, Commissioners McCarthy and Jeanes

NAYES:

None

c. Ordinances <u>2017-06-12.2</u> Ordering a Survey of the Original Municipal Boundaries of Brock, Brock West and Dennis

Attorney Hicks requested approval of a survey of the original municipal boundaries of Brock, Brock West and Dennis be approved

i. <u>Brock</u>: Commissioner Kenney moved for approval and Commissioner Snow seconded. Motion carried.

AYES:

Mayor Cooper, Commissioners Kenney and Snow

NAYES:

None

ii. <u>Brock West</u>: Commissioner Heistermann moved for approval and Commissioner Drillette seconded. Motion carried.

AYES:

Mayor Hamilton, Commissioners Heistermann & Drillette

NAYES:

None

iii. <u>Dennis</u>: Commissioner McCarthy moved for approval and Commissioner Jeanes seconded. Motion carried.

AYES:

Mayor Synowsky, Commissioners McCarthy and Jeanes

NAYES:

None

- d. Resolution Authorizing a City Map to be Prepared—combined with Ordinance 2017-06-12.1
- e. Resolution Approving Bonding, Errors and Omission and Liability Insurance

Towns' Attorney Hicks briefed the Commissions on pursuing a proposal by TML but no action was taken and the item was tabled.

i. <u>Brock</u>: Commissioner Snow moved to table and Commissioner Kenney seconded. Motion carried.

AYES:

Mayor Cooper, Commissioners Kenney and Snow

NAYES:

None

ii. <u>Brock West</u>: Commissioner Heistermann moved to table and Commissioner Drillette seconded. Motion carried.

AYES:

Mayor Hamilton, Commissioners Heistermann & Drillette

NAYES:

None

iii. <u>Dennis</u>: Commissioner Jeanes moved to table and Commissioner McCarthy seconded. Motion carried.

AYES:

Mayor Synowsky, Commissioners McCarthy and Jeanes

NAYES:

None

### 5. EXECUTIVE SESSION

- a. <u>Brock</u>: Mayor Cooper announced that the Brock Commission was going into executive session to consult with its attorney regarding pending litigation with Weatherford at 5:37 PM.
- b. <u>Brock West</u>: Mayor Hamilton announced that the Brock West Commission was going into Executive Session to consult with its attorney regarding contemplated litigation with Weatherford at 5:37 PM.
- c. <u>Dennis</u>: Mayor Synowsky announced that the Dennis Commission was going into Executive Session to consult with its attorney regarding contemplated litigation with Weatherford at 5:38 PM.

#### 6. RECONVENE IN OPEN SESSION AND POSSIBLE ACTION

a. <u>Brock</u>: Mayor Cooper announced that the Brock Commission reconvened in Open Session at 6:28 PM and announced that no votes or actions were taken in Executive Session.

- b. <u>Brock West</u>: Mayor Hamilton announced that the Brock West Commission reconvened in Open Session at 6:28 PM and announced that no votes or actions were taken in Executive Session.
- c. <u>Dennis</u>: Mayor Synowsky announced that the Dennis Commission reconvened in Open Session at 6:28 PM and announced that no votes or actions were taken in Executive Session.

Attorney Sharon Hicks updated the Commissions on the current and anticipated litigation with Weatherford. Following the approval of the voters of the original incorporation boundaries of the incorporated towns, to settle and resolve all pending and contemplated litigation, the parties agreed to revised territories and establishing respective boundaries. Ms. Hicks recommended that each Commission approve Ordinance No. 2017-06-12.3 establishing a common boundary line separating the territory of the towns from Weatherford, discontinuing territory and reducing ETJ consistent with the settlement agreement. Approval is also contingent on Weatherford approving the agreements for its portion of the settlement agreement.

d. <u>Brock</u>: Commissioner Kenney moved to approve Ordinance 2017-06-12.3 and Commissioner Snow seconded the motion for the Brock Commission. Motion carried.

AYES:

Mayor Cooper, Commissioners Kenney and Snow

NAYES:

None

e. <u>Brock West</u>: Commissioner Heistermann moved to approve Ordinance 2017-06-12.3 and Commissioner Drillette seconded the motion for the Brock West Commission. Motion carried.

AYES:

Mayor Hamilton, Commissioners Heistermann and Drillette

NAYES:

None

f. <u>Dennis</u>: Commissioner McCarthy moved to approve Ordinance 2017-06-12.3 and Commissioner Jeanes seconded the motion for the Dennis Commission. Motion carried.

AYES:

Mayor Synowsky, Commissioners McCarthy and Jeanes

NAYES:

None

# 7. DISCUSSION ITEMS:

a. Ms. Hicks briefed the Commissions on items to be addressed in the future, including the upcoming November 7, 2017 election and elections for consideration, including general election of officials, extending office from 2 years to 4, holding an election for local sales tax and future meetings. No action was taken.

# 8. ADJOURNMENT

- a. <u>Brock</u>: Motion to Adjourn by Commissioner Snow seconded by Commissioner Kenney for the town of Brock. Motion carried unanimously. Brock adjourned at 6:52 pm.
- b. **Brock West**: Motion to Adjourn by Commissioner Heistermann seconded by Commissioner Drillette for the town of Brock West. Motion carried unanimously. Brock West adjourned at 6:52 pm.
- c. <u>Dennis</u>: Motion to Adjourn by Commissioner Jeanes seconded by Commissioner McCarthy for the town of Dennis. Motion carried unanimously. Dennis adjourned at 6:53 pm.

	Bul low
Lisa Bellamy, Town Clerk	Mayor Cooper for Brock
	(A)
Lisa Bellamy, Town Clerk	Mayor Amilton for Brock West
	and W
Lisa Bellamy, Town Clerk	Mayor Synowsky for Dennis