## **MINUTES**

# OF THE JOINT MEETING OF THE

# BROCK COMMISSION, THE BROCK WEST COMMISSION AND THE DENNIS COMMISSION

Meeting date: May 15, 2017 at 5:30 PM at the Brock ISD High School Lecture Hall.

**BROCK ATTENDEES**: Mayor Bill Cooper, Commissioner Maureen Kenney and Commissioner Troy Snow. None absent.

**BROCK WEST ATTENDEES**: Mayor Jay Hamilton and Commissioner Matthew Heistermann. Commissioner Scott Drillette was absent at the beginning of the meeting but arrived at 6:20 PM.

**DENNIS ATTENDEES**: Mayor James Synowsky, Commissioner John McCarthy and Commissioner Rick Jeanes. None absent.

OTHER ATTENDEES: Towns' Clerk, Lisa Bellamy and Towns' Attorney, Sharon Hicks.

# 1. CALL TO ORDER

- a. Brock Mayor Cooper called the Brock Commission meeting to order at 5:35 PM and acknowledged a quorum was present.
- b. Brock West Mayor Hamilton called the Brock West Commission meeting to order at 5:35 PM and acknowledged a quorum was present.
- c. Dennis Mayor Synowsky called the Dennis Commission meeting to order at 5:36 PM and acknowledged a quorum was present.

### 2. INVOCATION

a. Mayor Cooper led the invocation.

#### 3. PLEDGES

a. Mayor Cooper led the pledge of allegiance to the United States flag and Texas Flag

#### 4. EXECUTIVE SESSION

- a. Brock: Mayor Cooper announced that the Brock Commission was going into executive session to consult with its attorney regarding pending litigation with Weatherford at 5:44 PM.
- b. Brock West: Mayor Hamilton announced that the Brock West Commission was going into Executive Session to consult with its attorney regarding contemplated litigation with Weatherford at 5:45 PM.
- c. **Dennis**: Mayor Synowsky announced that the Dennis Commission was going into Executive Session to consult with its attorney regarding contemplated litigation with Weatherford at 5:45 PM.

# 5. RECONVENE IN OPEN SESSION AND POSSIBLE ACTION

- a. Brock: Mayor Cooper announced that the Brock Commission reconvened in Open Session at 6:44 PM and announced that no votes or actions were taken in Executive Session.
- b. Brock West: Mayor Hamilton announced that the Brock West Commission reconvened in Open Session at 6:44 PM and announced that no votes or actions were taken in Executive Session.
- c. Dennis: Mayor Synowsky announced that the Dennis Commission reconvened in Open Session at 6:45 PM and announced that no votes or actions were taken in Executive Session.

Town Attorney Sharon Hicks briefed the Commissions regarding the compromise settlement agreement and boundary agreement with Weatherford resolving all pending and contemplated litigation regarding boundary disputes relating to the incorporations of the three towns. Ms. Hicks recommended that each Commission approve their respective Compromise Settlement Agreement and Boundary Agreement with Weatherford subject to Ms. Hicks approving the final wording and authorize the Mayor and Ms. Hicks to execute the agreements. Approval is also contingent on Weatherford approving the agreements.

> d. Brock: Commissioner Kenney moved to approve by ordinance the execution of the agreements and Commissioner Snow seconded the motion for the Brock Commission. Motion carried.

AYES:

Mayor Cooper, Commissioners Kenney and Snow

NAYES:

None

e. Brock West: Commissioner Heistermann moved to approve by ordinance the execution of the agreements and Commissioner Drillette seconded the motion for the Brock West Commission. Motion carried.

AYES:

Mayor Hamilton, Commissioners Heistermann and Drillette

NAYES:

None

f. Dennis: Commissioner McCarthy moved to approve by Ordinance the execution of the agreements and Commissioner Jeanes seconded the motion for the Dennis Commission. Motion carried.

AYES:

Mayor Synowsky, Commissioners McCarthy and Jeanes

NAYES:

None

## 6. DISCUSSION ITEMS:

Ms. Hicks briefed the Commissions on items to be addressed in the future. Commission bonding, Insurance, Open Government Training, Election report final filings, and future meetings. No action was taken.

#### 7. ADJOURNMENT

- a. Brock: Motion to Adjourn by Commissioner Kenney seconded by Commissioner Snow for the town of Brock. Motion carried unanimously. Brock adjourned at 6:52 PM.
- b. **Brock West**: Motion to Adjourn by Commissioner Heistermann seconded by Commissioner Drillette for the town of Brock West. Motion carried unanimously. Brock West adjourned at 6:52 PM.
- c. Dennis: Motion to Adjourn by Commissioner Jeanes seconded by Commissioner McCarthy for the town of Dennis. Motion carried unanimously. Dennis adjourned 6:53 PM.

Mayor Cooper for Brock

Mayor Synowsky for Dennis

for Brock West